Blossom_onthego · escapadas · Fashion · travel

Alpine Wellness

I need to confess that when my friend suggested me the plan I was quite sceptical about it. The last thing I had in mind was to spend my only weekend off far from the civilization. I wanted to go shopping, to have a coffee or two in that nice café in the centre, to go out and dance till late… In short, continuing with the hustle & bustle of my city life but without work. My friend had in mind a completely different plan: she wanted a relax weekend in a spa, far from everything.

My first reaction was to reject the idea. My mind quickly (& wrongly) mapped it… ‘Too expensive, too boring, it will be not worth it…’. I COULDN’T BE MORE WRONG! We spent a super weekend up there. And it was not only sauna and pool, we made the most of our stay visiting the top of the mountain and its beautiful glaciers and, of course, tasting the great cuisine of the area in a picturesque restaurant. Our fab (& too short) stay was really worth it and I would not change a thing of our experience.

2015-10-10 14.46.31-1

 

2015-10-10 21.12.40

The Steigenberger hotel is located in Saanen, a small village not far from Gstaad (just 10 minutes drive). The hotel lies a little above the town centre and is easily reached on foot. Mostly all the rooms offer a unique view of the Bernese Alps. You wake up in a peaceful & relaxing environment: mountain sight & the sound of silence (and the cows, of course).

2015-10-09 17.41.12-12015-10-10 16.03.41

But let’s go to the point. Why am I writing about it? Well, because obviously, after such a delightful weekend, I wanted to share my experience with all of you 🙂

And here you have the positive aspects:

1.- Staff: Astonishingly perfect. The three women working during our stay were really kind and helpful. Just one complaint, the staff was not enough at checking in/out time, so the service was slow.

2.- Our DOUBLE ROOM was big, enough space for two people. Equipped with modern bathroom, safe, TV, free Wi-Fi, terrace and many handlers (yes, handlers, we know how important is that!).

2015-10-11 09.45.5673b

3.- Price: Excellent if we compare with the surrounding hotels (and if we remember that we are talking about Switzerland).

Cake time :)
Cake time 🙂

4.- Meals: Breakfast buffet – Big choice.

  • Cake time. Ah yes, CAKES! The hotel treats you really well. Everyday, from 3 to 5pm, the bar offers to their guests the two cake specialities to eat à volonté (& only charging for the drinks, if you order something. Fare enough 🙂 ).

5.- Spa & Wellness: Recently renovated & vey clean. The offer: Finish panoramic sauna, with a unique view over the mountains; Aroma Bio Sauna & Herbal Sauna; Indoor pool; Solarium. Everything is included in the room price.

la foto 2la foto 3

6.- The hotel itself: Beautiful wooden building, renovated recently (bathrooms!). And the best, the astonishing views from every single room.

73c2015-10-11 11.34.34 HDR

Leave a comment